ISUP Excellence in Urologic Pathology Awards: 2018 Awardees

 I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 ISUP scientific awards. These prizes are awarded annually to the three best abstracts presented at the USCAP annual meeting by trainees in Pathology. Since first awarded in 2002, 43 trainees have been recognized with ISUP excellence in urologic pathology awards. A list of all the awardees is available on the ISUP website ( It is an interesting list and many of the awardees have gone on to pursue careers in the area of urologic pathology. A few examples include Arul Chinnaiyan (2002; SP Hicks Endowed Professor, University of Michigan), Gladell Paner (2005; Associate Professor, University of Chicago), Debra Zynger (2006 & 2009; Associate Professor, The Ohio State University), Priya Rao (2008; Associate Professor, U of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center), Rohit Mehra (2009; Associate Professor, University of Michigan), Carla Ellis (2011; Assistant Professor, Emory University), and Scott Tomlins (2011; Associate Professor, University of Michigan). ISUP is proud to have been a part of the early experience of these many successful individuals.


The trainees who have received Excellence in Urologic Pathology awards for the current year is listed below. If you have a chance please visit them at their posters and provide your congratulations.


Shuhua MA, MD, PhD, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Aggressive Chromophobe RCC (ChRCC) are Molecularly and Immunochemically Separable from Indolent ChRCC (Poster board #107, Monday morning)


Rola Saleeb, MD, University of Toronto. Modulating ATP Binding Cassette (ABC) Transporters in Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma Type 2 Enhances its Response to Targeted Molecular Therapies (Poster board #128, Monday morning).


Xiaotun Zhang, MD, Mayo Clinic. Gleason grade 4 Expansile Cribriform Pattern is Associated with Poor Prognosis in Prostate Cancer (Poster board #114, Monday morning).


My congratulations to all the recipients. I would also like to extend my thanks on behalf of the Society to Adeboye Osunkoya who chaired the Award committee and to Massimo Loda and Antonio Lopez-Beltran who served as judges.


David Grignon

President, ISUP