ISUP Stipend Award: 2017-2018 Awardees


I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017-2018 ISUP stipend awards. These stipends are awarded annually to outstanding trainees in Pathology with a demonstrated interest in Urologic Pathology. This years’ four awardees each received a stipend of $1,000.00. The stipend may be used to attend a national/international meeting or towards travel to study urologic pathology at an institution outside of their own. Since first awarded in 2007-2008, 40 trainees have been provided with ISUP stipends. A list of all the awardees is available on the ISUP website ( It is an interesting list and many of the awardees have gone on to pursue careers in the area of urologic pathology. A few examples would include Rohit Mehra (2008-2009; Associate Professor, University of Michigan), Maria Tretiakova (2009-2010; Associate Professor, University of Washington), Sean Williamson (2010-2011; Assistant Professor, Wayne State University and Henry Ford Health System and ISUP Web master), Oleksandr Kryvenko (2011-2012; Associate Professor, University of Miami) and Martin Braun (2014-2015; Faculty, University of Bonn, Germany). ISUP is proud to have been a part of the early experience of these many successful individuals.


The awardees who have received stipends for the current year are:

  • Andres Acosta University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Rongbin Ge University of Massachusetts
  • Yuri Tolkach University Hospital of Bonn, Germany
  • Lisha Wang University of Michigan


My congratulations to all of the recipients. I would also like to extend my thanks on behalf of the society to Samson Fine who chaired the Award committee and to Rohit Mehra, Priya Rao, and Maria Tretiakova who served as judges.


David Grignon

President, ISUP